Bright Star at the Ahmanson

Gordon and I stopped at Kendall’s for our soup and wine before going upstairs to the Music Center. We got there early to get a seat but that was okay; the Dodger game was on. I had time for a second glass of wine as we all cheered on the Dodgers. Unfortunately, we had to leave in the fifth inning to go to the show but Gordon has the Dodger app on his phone so we could check the score at intermission. Always lots going on in Los Angeles.

I enjoyed the music of Bright Star, written by Steve Martin and Edie Brickell. It was mostly Blue Grass with some ballads thrown in. And that suited the play right down to the ground since it took place in North Caroline after WWII. Carmen Cusack reprised her Tony-nominated role of Alice Murphy; she was just wonderful. Her singing, her acting….it was nice to see a meaty part for such a talented woman. The whole cast was wonderful doing their clog dancing and country singing. The audience seemed to really appreciate the Americana. We all clapped along with the band when they played Blue Grass by themselves. I had a few problems with the book but I think I was the only one. I noticed all the men in the row in front of me surreptitiously wiping their eyes. It was moving. I never understood why the New York critics dissed it so badly; probably because it was a love song to the American South. I particularly appreciated the fact that not one negative reference about Republicans was evidenced. It was a relief to see a show without current politics. Anyway, it’s a sweet show with a talented cast. If you like Blue Grass music, or even if you don’t, you’ll enjoy it.

One interesting thing I forgot to mention that Gordon pointed out last night. The music supervisor was Peter Asher–you know, the Peter of Peter & Gordon? Apparently, when the duo broke up Mr. Asher was head of A&R for the Beatles. In 1971 he founded Peter Asher Management, representing James Taylor, Linda Ronstadt, Joni Mitchell, and the list (and the beat) goes on. I had no idea.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.