We survived the Fourth

Well, we made it through the 4th without a fire. The city attorney sent out a letter sternly warning of consequences for illegal fireworks. Well, the relatives of an old lady on the street brought in a U-Haul truck of fireworks. They started at 8:30 and went to 10:30. On the news, there were so many illegal fireworks displays that the media told people not to bother calling the police; they couldn’t cover any of it. Normally, I just go downstairs to get away from the noise but the hipsters across the alley were throwing a party and they started thumping at 7. Couldn’t go anywhere to get away from the noise. If Gordon’s band speakers were plugged in I’d have had a stereo war with them–haven’t lost yet with the band amps–but they’re stowed away. Sigh. We should probably leave for the 4th but we get so much detritus from the fireworks I seriously worry about a fire. And the M80s drove the cats nuts. They both hid out in their safe spots downstairs and appeared briefly when they needed comfort. This morning Gordon picked up beer cans and 3/4 of a bottle of wine left on our front yard. Annoying. And what’s really weird is I think the fireworks people think they’re doing the neighborhood a favor. One neighbor told me they spent over $5000 on fireworks. Wish they’d ask. I think thy only person who lives on the street and isn’t related to these people who likes the fireworks is Gordon. Oh, and the hipsters. They crawl up the hill and cheer. And sit on my lawn. Get off my lawn! I’m ready to move again. Although that seems a little drastic for one bad night. I should just find a hotel, I guess.

George when he’s not running from fireworks.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

