Fun Home at the Ahmanson

Gordon and I stopped at Kendall’s before going to the Ahmanson because he wanted some French onion soup. It was packed! On a Tuesday night! We took the last seats at a communal table between two other groups of people. It was so noisy that the waiter didn’t seem to understand our orders. Actually, for a while I thought he’d forgotten them because we just sat. The kid pouring water kept us hydrated and quiet until the manager (I think) showed up with two glasses of pinot noir. I appreciated the fact that she brought something but I pointed out that I’d order a Malbec and Gordon wanted iced tea. Everybody was very civilized and we got our orders eventually but we couldn’t really talk to each other. See noisy comment above. I guess that was a good thing because Trump’s speech was on CNN and the Liberals next to us were getting pretty snide. THAT I could hear. Lucky me. I got the impression that they were trying to impress us with their PC snideness but I’m really tired of it all. I glanced at them dismissively and they dried up. We enjoyed our soup in political-tirade-free silence and followed the herd up to the plaza.

Fun Home is about the journey of self-discovery by a lesbian. And it’s also about her strained relationship with her sexually-closeted father. The father’s first song is about “I Want”. But she can’t figure out what he wants because he’s so distant. They’re both gay, she points out to the audience, why can’t they connect? The title Fun Home is a bit of a joke. That’s what the kids of the family call the family business, a funeral home. But it also describes the family. The parents spend all their time polishing and cleaning a beautiful home but there’s no happiness inside–looks good but it’s dead. I thought the show was amusing at times and very touching. Also thoughtful as you can tell by my comments. The actors were all great. I particularly enjoyed the song of the three Allisons. It was just beautiful. The staging was imaginative and effective. I should point out that the show runs without an intermission and lasts about an hour and 45 minutes so pee before you go.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

