On the Death of Al Jarreau

I was saddened to hear of the death of Al Jarreau. I’ve been a fan of his so long I still have LPs from his Montrose shows. Too bad I don’t have a turn table anymore. I see vinyl is coming back in and turn tables are available so maybe I’ll buy one. But back to the man himself….

My husband took me to see a show of Jarreau’s at the Sands in Las Vegas. The Sands was torn down over twenty years ago so I guess this would have been in Mr. Jarreau’s prime of life. I remember the maître d’ asked if we wanted to sit down front and Gordon and I looked at each other incredulously and said, “Sure!” So that’s where we were seated. I asked Gordon later if we were supposed to tip the guy $20 but neither one of us knew any better so I guess the man got stiffed. I feel sorta bad about that now but we were neophytes. Anyway, we were seated at a table with a bunch of men from New Jersey. I was curious as to why they came all the way to Las Vegas when Atlantic City was so close but they said Atlantic City was too dangerous. And they thought Vegas was more fun. Conversation ended because the show started. And what a show it was…

Mr. Jarreau sang most of his hits–and there were a lot of them–and some new material. I sat there with a big grin on my face, enjoying it all. I must have looked slightly nuts (well, I’m a fan, I’m supposed to be nuts) because Mr. Jarreau kept looking down at me nervously, like he was afraid my medication was wearing off. Which I was slightly offended by. There was a table of screaming black women next to us and they didn’t seem to frighten him at all. Oh well, I really enjoyed the show. I wish I’d gone to more of his concerts when I had the chance. I think I’ll pull out one of his CDs and give it a listen. Seventy-six is too young to die in this day and age.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

