Los Angeles Philharmonic Invitational Rehearsal

Gordon and I attended the LA Phil rehearsal at the Hollywood Bowl last Thursday. It was nice that Gordon didn’t have a conflict and we could go together. We were prepped with hats, long-sleeved shirts, crossword puzzles, and coffee–well, the coffee was for me, Gordon just carried one of the travel mugs. I even slipped an umbrella in our bag, just in case the sun got too hot. We signed in, got our granola bars and water bottles, and found a box not too far from the front. It was hotter than the hinges of hell. Thank God, I brought the umbrella. Gordon opened it and stuck the handle in his shirt pocket so he wouldn’t have to hold it. Then he settled back and nodded in the heat. I enjoyed my coffee and bar before the heat got to me. Then I just sat and sweltered. Some people showed up without hats and in shirtsleeves. They had to find shade after a few minutes. They would have burned up otherwise. I think the heat even got to the orchestra. They played more clinkers than I’m used to. Dudamel even seemed cranky. Yuja Wang was the soloist and the bassoon just couldn’t seem to get in tune with her piano. And I can’t remember the last time I noticed an intonation problem with the orchestra. Wang didn’t seem to mind the heat. She was dressed in a backless, short-short sunsuit and wedges. I don’t know how she plays in such high heels but she pulls it off. She played Ravel’s Concerto in G and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. I would have enjoyed both pieces if I hadn’t been so hot. The Phil rehearsed Gershwin’s Catfish Row (greatest hits from Porgy and Bess) and Bolero. I remember enjoying both pieces more but that could have been because I was so hot I almost passed out when I stood up. And the old hens were at it again–yakking, yakking, yakking. Dudamel finally turned around and motioned them to keep it down which seemed to chastise them a bit. I guess they have to be hit in the head before they’ll shut up. Or maybe the sun made them nuttier than usual. Anyway, they finally had a kid walking between the boxes, making them behave themselves. They’re old enough to know how to behave but I guess they feel entitled. We dropped our season subscription because we couldn’t stand the horrible audience at the Bowl. I think we must have just one subscription of many to bail because now they have a sign stating that anyone disrupting the performance for other audience members will be ejected. I might sign up again if I believed them. I have to admit that the Bowl on a warm summer night can be a wonderful IMAG0108experience–if it weren’t for the drunks.

The rehearsal ended on the dot of 12:30 so we went to Phillipe’s for a double-dipped roast-beef sandwich. Then we came home and listened to the painters work. They’re almost done. I think they’ll be finished by Tuesday at the latest. And I’ll have my house back! Looking forward to that.

Oh, and here’s a picture of the Bowl after the rehearsal. Gives people something to look at.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

