Dodger/Rockies Game

Gordon and I walked over to Dodger Stadium early so we could get settled before the National Anthem. A Korean War vet was introduced as the ‘honored veteran’ and the announcer talked about his service in the Marine Corps including the landing at Inchon. I’d just been reading about the Inchon landing in Truman so I gave Gordon the details on just how significant that landing was. It allowed the USA to drive the North Koreans back above the 38th parallel in a short time. The audience gave the vet a standing ovation which is a distinct change from 10 years ago. I remember going to a game during the Iraqi war–which the media was quite critical of. Hollywood had made a raft of anti-war films. A young serviceman just back from deployment was introduced and the audience just sat there–crickets. Gordon was getting Dodger Dogs so I stood up, clapped my hands over my head, and yelled, “Screw Hollywood, we love you guys!” Gasps and startled looks! I just continued clapping and grinned defiantly. In my opinion, you can hate the war, not the warrior. Anyway, Gordon came back with the hotdogs and I sat back down (he hates when I make scenes like that so I do my little shows when he’s not around). I’m surprised at the change from the apathy (or dislike) then to standing ovations now. Maybe I started something. I like to think so.

Back to the game: it was rather boring after a 3-run homer by Justin Turner in the first inning. The Rockies chipped away at the lead until they were tied in the seventh. We sang our song and then left before the eighth inning. I was cold. We got home in time to watch Thompson hit a walk-off home run. But the Dodger Dog was good, I enjoyed my peanuts, and I didn’t break a tooth on the licorice. It was a good night for baseball.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

