The Illusionists at the Pantages

Parking is still a problem on Hollywood Blvd. so Gordon and I left early for the show last night. We tried Delphine’s, a bar across the street from the Pantages. I had a glass of wine at Happy Hour prices and we split a bowl of pulled pork on rice. It had beans, and avocado. At the bartender’s suggestion we added salt and tabasco. That made it really good. The bartender even changed the TV channel from basketball–nobody was watching it anyway–to Jeopardy. Got into a conversation with the woman next to me who kept insisting she was right and I was wrong and was wrong herself every time. Of course, that didn’t keep her from exclaiming that I was wrong. No wonder she was by herself. Anyway, she said that the game brought back bittersweet memories for her. She used to play with her family all time until her mother and brothers died. I didn’t know what to say to that but it didn’t bother me so much when she kept declaring that she was right when she wasn’t. She was probably out of practice. We all left to go across the street to pee before the show. We left a little extra tip for the bartender because he’d been so helpful. He even played Jeopardy with us. We’ll go back.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Illusionists. I hadn’t been to a magic show since we attended the Magic Castle years ago. It was terrific! I like to think of myself as a reasonably sophisticated person–with spelling issues–and I watched intently to see where the tricks were. I couldn’t figure out how they were done. It was magic! Eight magicians performed their specialities; an escape artist, a crossbow master, guys who disappeared and reappeared, and a comic magician who did sleight of hand… I think the comic was my favorite; I haven’t laughed so hard at a show in years. But it was a toss-up among the comic, the crazy-looking goth guy, and the kid who used rear-screen film. It was two hours of fun and amazement. I recommend it highly.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

