Brooklyn, the Movie

I just watched Brooklyn and found it charming. It’s the story about an Irish girl who emigrates to the US in the 50s. She’s sponsored by the local Catholic priest so a room in a respectable boarding house and a job are arranged for her. She sails across the Atlantic by herself and adjusts to her new life. She takes bookkeeping classes at night and attends dances sponsored by the Catholic parish. She meets a young fella at one of the dances and…well, I don’t want to spoil the story. It’s a mood piece so it starts out a little slow but I was sucked in and captivated. It was so nice to watch a story about a decent middle-class girl dealing with problems I could identify with. And I didn’t feel like I needed a shower when the movie finished. No frat boy fart jokes, no graphic sex, no blood and gore. I’m surprised that it’s getting such good press. The Catholic Church isn’t vilified, the girl isn’t selling herself for drugs, and the anti-immigrant moments are dealt with intelligently. The lead (Irish name; can’t spell or pronounce it) was just lovely. All the actors were. And I howled at the direct, no-nonsense Irish biddies. I’ve got some in my family. So if you want to revel in an American immigrant experience from an Irish point of view, see this movie. I really liked it.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

