Beethoven’s Ninth at Disney Hall

Gordon and I went to Disney to hear the LA Phil, the Simon Bolivar Orchestra, and the LA Master Chorale perform Beethoven’s Ninth last night. Wow. The Dude conducted without a score, as usual, and I found his interpretation thoughtful and inspired. The first three movements were lovely, the two orchestra groups blended beautifully but, of course, everybody was waiting for the final movement–and it was doozy. The libretto was projected in English and Spanish so I finally put the words with the music in my mind. When the tenor started singing about joy it sounded playful; I could see everybody sitting in a pub drinking beer. Then the lyrics turned to finding God beyond the stars and we went into a cathedral. It was so moving I had tears. Dudamel danced to a spectacular end and we all stood and cheered. The Ninth was the only thing on the program. As Gordon pointed out, “How do you follow that?” I hope they recorded it. I’d love to buy a copy.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

