Hollywood Bowl, LA Phil rehearsal

Friends of the LA Phil get invited to rehearsals as thanks for our donations so I went to the Hollywood Bowl this morning to hear the Phil prepare for tonight’s concert. I went alone because Gordon’s in New Orleans on business. I brewed the coffee, put on sunscreen, and struggled to get my big sunhat down from the closet–Gordon put it away last time so I needed a chair to get it. I packed my coffee, newspaper, Kindle, and water in my Sons of Norway tote bag and took off. Some film company was shooting on Scott Ave. and I saw JK Simmons on the sidewalk looking around. I almost yelled that I loved him in Whiplash but I was running late–and he probably hates getting yelled at. I parked and checked in at the Bowl; I had a box all to myself. They’d given me a snack bar along with bottled water as an additional ‘thank you’. The orchestra was warming up but I pulled out the snack bar anyway; I was hungry. Besides, with all the geriatrics around I figured it would be something soft. Boy, was I wrong. It was crisp and crunchy. The orchestra started playing Bolero so I crunched in time to it. I hope it added a nice percussive quality to the piece for the people around me. Anyway, the Bolero was great. The sax player had a real ‘greasy’ sax tone that added to the sensuality. And the trombones played low and dirty. Nice interpretation. Then the orchestra played Borodin’s biggest hits from Prince Igor followed by La Mer. Both very nice. After a break they came back to play Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with Yuja Wang as soloist. I get such a kick out of her. She was wearing a tight mini-dress with high wedge sandals; she looks more like a Hollywood starlet than a concert pianist. But she blasted hell out of Prokofiev in spite of all the helicoptors buzzing overhead. It’s going to be a good concert tonight.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

