Matilda, musical

We saw Matilda at the Ahmanson last night. It had some good bits but the people next to us fell asleep. I think Gordon nodded off too so it gets one Z on the snore scale. I liked some of the songs–the swing (as in playground equipment) routine and the gymnastics dance number in particular–but I found most of the show uninvolving. Maybe that was because I had a hard time understanding the dialogue and lyrics. The kids were all mic-ed, had an English accent, and were loud. What I could understand involved fairness and the necessity of standing up against unfairness–“sometimes you have to be naughty”. No problem there. The actors were fine; Jennifer Blood played Miss Honey and she brought a tear to my eye when she sang “My House”. I loved Bryce Ryness as Miss Trunchbull, the villain/villainess. He was the best part in the whole thing. The theater was packed with kids, of course. Some woman had left her children in our seats. We got the kids moved down to where they were supposed to be and settled in. Our neighbors showed us the candy left on their seats inscribed to “Our Subscribers”. They asked us if we’d gotten any candy and of course the kids had taken it. Oh well, I didn’t need the candy anyway and the kids didn’t know any better but it was that kind of evening. The show ran almost three hours. I don’t know whether I can recommend it or not. The actors were great but for me it was kind of a ‘meh’.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

