Motown, the musical

Gordon and I went to Hollywood last night to see Motown at the Pantages. We left early hoping we could get into the $10 parking but no such luck. There were lines outside the Palladium, the Fonda…seemed like every venue in the area had an opening. We lucked into the back door of the underground $15 parking (better than the $20 parking four blocks away) and trudged to the theater. Motown is Barry Gordy’s answer to Dreamgirls. I suppose there was as much truth in Motown as there was in Dreamgirls–depends on whose ox is being gored, as my mother used to say–but the music was much better. Gordy had the rights to all the Motown hits and he used a bunch of them–a few too many of them, in my opinion. But I have no idea what to cut. The actors playing Marvin Gaye, Diana Ross, Mary Welles, Stevie Wonder, the Jackson 5, the Temptations, etc. were all wonderful and the tunes were great! It’s just that the show ran almost three hours. People were starting to leave and I was yawning when it ended. But it was fun reliving my youth with song. I just wish the book could have been tightened up. But again, I don’t know how. The story covered 25 years of new music, social unrest…that’s a lot of territory to cover. But Gordy got his message across that he wasn’t the bad guy Dreamgirls portrayed him. And that was the goal, I think.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

