Cinderella, the movie

Finally saw the movie, Cinderella. I didn’t like it as much as the stage musical–which we saw a few weeks ago–but it was enjoyable. There were some interesting comic bits but they were more smile than guffaw. The performances were all outstanding; they raided the Downtown Abbey cast so I felt like I was among old friends. Cate Blanchette was wonderful as usual; she’s a great villain. And her wardrobe! Whoever the costume designer was should get an award. I found Madam’s costumes more compelling than Cinderella’s. But the girl who played Cinderella was perfect–although I sympathized with her when I saw her dress. They had the poor kid cinched into a 17-inch-waist-corset then they made her dance. But she did it, by God. My only cavil was due to my snarkiness not any shortcoming of the production. When poor Cinderella is dropped off in that blue dress for the ball, she was shown looking up at about four flights of stairs to get to the ballroom. My thought was, if she makes it up all those flights in that dress and corset without passing out, it’ll be a miracle. And if she gets up there without dying, she’ll be so sweaty she won’t have any make-up left and the prince will need to towel her off before he can dance with her. I also had a hard time with the grand staircase going down. Cinderella stands at the top looking gorgeous (not sweaty and gasping) before gracefully sweeping down the steps. While I admired her poise, I just wanted to slide down the marble banister. I’m not princess material. But if you’re capable of a reasonable amount of suspension of disbelief, you’ll enjoy this movie. It was sweet, earnest, and well-acted.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

