Newsies

Gordon and I went to see Newsies at the Pantages last night. What a hoot! I remember the movie of the same name starring Christian Bale and Robert DuVall about 25 year ago. The script was a mess but I remember thinking, “What great tunes and dance routines. Wonder why they don’t put it on Broadway.” I guess somebody else had the same idea. The book has been simplified, two major characters are consolidated which helps the flow. And the dance routines are spectacular. It’s a mostly young male cast so the dancing is athletic and rousing. The kids were put in taps to do the “I’m the King of New York” number. It stopped the show. I didn’t recognize any of the stars, it was a no-name cast, but the talent on the stage was breath-taking. The audience was an interesting mish-mash. The woman next to me apparently thought she was at a tent-revival– millinials, (how do you spell it?) google it. She screamed and whooped and yelled “Amen!” throughout. I thought she’d shatter my eardrum so Gordon and I switched places at intermission. I think he suffered hearing damage from all his years in rock bands so piercing noise doesn’t bother him so much. The only other problem we had was our lack of seat space. The women on either side of us were FAT so they slopped over into our seats. Forget the armrest; I worried about being smothered by fat. For goodness–and my–sake, ladies, step away from the donuts and walk around the block! But the show was great. And I always appreciate the architecture of the Pantages. Disney did a wonderful job of restoring it. The neighborhood is changing too. Apartments have gone up (very expensive apartments!) so I no longer have to worry about being mugged or puked on. What a blessing.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

