Cinderella

Gordon and I went to Cinderella at the Ahmundson last night. It had gotten good reviews and I always loved the Leslie Ann Down version from my childhood so I was looking forward to it. Boy, was I not disappointed! They kept all my favorite songs although they put them in a different order. The original TV show was only about an hour; a Broadway show usually takes about 2 1/2 hours so they had to completely re-write the book. The prince (played by Andy H. Jones) got a character and some extra songs. Jones has a wonderful voice and is either straight (unusual in the theater these days) or he’s a wonderful actor. Doesn’t matter; the chemistry between the prince and Cinderella was terrific. Their smooch gave everybody a ‘sigh’ moment. Paige Faure played Cinderella and she was absolutely terrific. The kid can sing AND dance AND act–a true triple threat. The girl who got to sing “Stepsister’s Lament” (‘why does a fella love a girl like her, a girl who’s merely lovely’–my theme song through my teen years) brought the house down. Wonderful comedic actress. I loved the staging and am still trying to figure out how they made the first dress change for Cinderella. I know it had to be something simple but it looked like magic. Fran Drescher played the Wicked Stepmother; she was funny but I’ve never liked her voice so I wasn’t too receptive to her. Anyway, it was a seamless production with lots of impressive dancing and singing. The politics included was Moderate so I had nothing to be pissed off about. All in all, a wonderful night at the theater. Oh, and the wine and soup at Kendell’s was good as usual. We sat at the bar and had fun playing Jeopardy before the show. Lots of fun.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

