Tracks

http://www.glaws.org/LL/index.html
I just had a short story, Tracks, published in the Greater Los Angeles Writers’ Society in-house magazine, Literary Landscapes (see link above). I re-read it and am pleased to announce to that I don’t hate it–and I hate everything I write until a few years have gone by. Tracks is an ode to my great-grandfather, Tom Sorenson, who emigrated to this country in his late teens. He home-steaded in Dakota Territory and by the time he died in 1928 he owned most of a county. He was a true American success story. Tracks is also a nod to my husband’s grandmother, Margaret Dickie, who emigrated from Northern Ireland to Wisconsin by herself when she was 16. Gordon says she’s the toughest woman he’s ever know–other than me, of course. His grandparents made a successful farm, raised 6 children, and put them all through college when a college education meant something. Tough people made this country. If you want to read Tracks, go to the link above.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

