Not much Ag in LA County Fair

Went to the LA County Fair a couple weeks ago (I know I’m late; got side-tracked writing about other stuff). County fairs sure have changed over the years. Used to be horse shows and 4H animal judging. Used to have pickles and pies. No more. There were cakes, breads, and cookies on display but they looked a little tired. I don’t know when they’d been judged so they could have been sitting there for a few days. A friend suggested that I enter one of my pies and I should’ve; I would have been the only entry so I’d’a been a shoo-in but a win is a win. And I noticed Floyd had more entries than Aunt Bea. I guess that’s why there were so many beautiful cakes instead of pickles. Call me crazy but I miss pickles. I was also disappointed that there didn’t seem to be any animal judging. The fair had ‘demonstration’ animals (This is a Cow). The baby goats were cute and I was amused by the amazement of the city people when they saw adult hogs. I keep forgetting that city people don’t know anything about agriculture. I enjoyed the bee-keeping demonstrations and wine-tasting–the California crops.

We spent four hours touring barns and exhibition halls. Didn’t find anything we wanted to buy. Shamwow had a booth in every building and that was as upscale as it got. I was obviously not their demographic. We ate corndogs (wonderful!), barbeque sandwiches, and split a deep-fried Dodger Dog which made us both sick. Can’t eat all that grease anymore.

I was glad when we went to the grandstand for the concert. I got to sit down before I lost the Dodger Dog. We watched a brushfire in the San Gabriel mountains glowing in the dusk; it looked like the Gate to Hell–beautiful and terrible. Burton Cummings opened the show and performed Guess Who tunes–none of his solo stuff. I was disappointed because that precluded my favorites of his. But he was good, the show was tight. Grand Funk Railroad followed and they’d grown from a power trio to seven or eight people–my husband explained this to me; I’ve never followed metal bands. They were good if you like that sort of thing but I thought they were too loud. Surprisingly, my husband agreed with me so we left. We bought a bag of kettle corn and went home for some Tums. Would I do it again? Probably. But I’m tempted to rent one of the scooters that fat people get. I wouldn’t get all the blisters. And I could play chicken with the fat people.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

