Annapolis Trip

We attended the wedding of Gordon’s nephew last Saturday. We hadn’t seen the kid in years due to his parents’ truly ugly divorce but Gordon felt it was important to put in an appearance.  Only eight on Gordon’s side of the family–out of a 100 guests–were there so we didn’t know anybody. The other guests looked at us sideways–probably wondering what we were doing there–so it wasn’t very pleasant. We sat in the back, ate cake, and danced. We had as much fun as possible considering that our only function was to bring a check. But the trip wasn’t a complete waste; we toured the Naval Academy’s chapel (which looks like a cathedral), John Paul Jones crypt, and the museum. Did not know that poor John Paul Jones was assigned a diplomatic post in Paris where he died 3 days before starting work. It was during the Terror so they buried him quickly and forgot all about him. Some American (around 1900) tracked down the grave and they dug him up to bring him home. It all worked out; he’s got a spectacular crypt and I’m sure he smiles when he looks down on it. My ankle was twisted so I let Gordon go ahead to the museum while I rested it. When I entered the museum the man at the desk asked me if I was looking for my husband. When I looked surprised he explained that Gordon told him to be on the lookout for me and that I had a limp. “I’m coming, Mr. Dillon!” Gimped through Annapolis state house and some historic homes and gardens. Lovely town and charming residents but it’s good to be home. Need to stay off the ankle so it’ll heal.

About Barbara Schnell

I've dedicated my life to full-time employment avoidance. I've been an actress, renovated a 1921 California Bungalow, set a cash-winning record on $25,000 Pyramid, and came in last on Jeopardy. I live in Los Angeles with my patient husband and two cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

